Office of the Dean

Responsibilities and functions of the Office of the Dean

The Office of the Dean manages the Faculty in accordance with § 89 Bremen Higher Education Act (BremHG) and represents the Faculty within the University and on national subject and degree-specific boards. It prepares and executes Faculty Council Resolutions. Furthermore, it sets agreements on objectives with the University management and decides upon the human and physical resources awarded to subject areas within the framework of the structural plan.

The Office of the Dean consists of three members, each elected for two years:
1) the Dean, 2) the Deputy Dean and 3) the Dean of Academic Studies.


Prof. Dr. Karin Gottschall

Building: SOCIUM
Room: 4440
Phone: 0421 218-58595
Fax: 0421 218-58618

Deputy Dean

Prof. Dr. Susanne K. Schmidt

Building: UNICOM 7
Room: 2010
Phone: 0421 218-67484
Fax: 0421 218-67491

Dean of Academic Studies

Dr. Sabine Ritter

Building: GW2
Room: B2221
Phone: 0421 218-67002
Consulation hours: Thursday 10:30 to 12:00 am. Appointments via Stud.IP.